1. Chairholder 4. Invited researchers 7. Trainees
2. Research associates 5. Ph.D. Students 8. Professionals
3. Postdoctoral fellows 6. M.Sc. Students 9. Technicians


Masoud Farzaneh received his power engineering degree from Polytechnic of Tehran in 1973. After obtaining his Masters jointly from Institut National Polytechnique and Université Paul Sabatier in France, he received his PhD in 1980, from the same institutions. Later, in 1986, he obtained a Doctorat d'état ès sciences from Université Paul Sabatier.

Professor Farzaneh has done pioneering work in the field of power engineering, including high voltage engineering, the impact of cold climate on overhead power network equipment, corona induced vibration, partial and arc discharge on ice surface and air intervals, de-icing techniques, self-cleaning and icephobic coatings for power networks. Professor Farzaneh is recognized for his significant and pioneering research in these areas through extensive publications comprising about 700 technical research refereed journals and conference proceeding papers, as well as 3 books and 14 book chapters. These three books have been translated in Chinese. As mentor, he has trained 240 highly qualified personnel, including 47 PhDs, 44 Masters and 38 Postdoctoral

He is Founder of the International Research Center on Icing and Power Network Engineering (CENGIVRE) which led from 2003 to 2016 as well as initiator of the Masters Programme in Engineering at UQAC, which led from 1990 to 1992. From 1997 to 2015 he was Chairholder of the NSERC/Hydro-Quebec/UQAC Industrial Research Chair on Atmospheric Icing of Power Network equipment (CIGELE). He was also Chairholder of Canada Research Chair on Atmospheric Icing Engineering of Power Networks (INGIVRE) at University of Quebec in Chicoutimi (UQAC) from January 2003 to December 2016.

He has always been actively involved with IEEE, CIGRE and IET, in particular he was President of IEEE DEIS, Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation, and Editor-in-Chief of the IET High Voltage journal. He was member of many Task Forces of IEEE, as well as member of the Executive Committee of CIGRE Canada, Convenor of CIGRE WG B2.29, WG B2.44 and WG B2.69 on de-icing techniques and on coatings for protection of overhead lines. A large number of IEEE and CIGRE standards, guides, technical brochures and position papers have been realized under his leadership. He is Life Fellow of IEEE, Fellow of The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), Fellow of the Conseil international des grands réseaux électriques (CIGRÉ) and Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE).

His contributions and achievements in research and teaching have been recognized by several prestigious prizes and awards at national and international levels, including:

2020 - Elected Fellow of the Conseil international des grands réseaux électriques (CIGRÉ)

2020 - Ranked in the top 2% of the world's most cited scientists by Stanford University

2019 - Recognition award for dedicated and outstanding contributions to the field of atmospheric icing of power network equipment and disseminating IWAIS (International workshop on Atmospheric Icing of Structures) enhancement of international participation

2017 - Elected Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering

2017 - Best Paper Award, International Workshop on Icing of Structures (IWAIS) 2017, “Process and Characteristics of Icicle Growth along a Line Insulator String under DC Voltage”, co-authored with professors Y. Liu and B.X. Du

2017 - Contribution award in recognition of outstanding contribution on developing the IET High Voltage Journal, China Electric Power Institute (CEPRI) and The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)

2016 - Elevated Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

2015 - Special Recognition Plaque awarded for outstanding service, IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society

2013 - Whitehead Memorial Lecture Award, IEEE Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Society.

2013 - Acknowledged as one of the 16 comtemporary scientists who had a significant impact on the history of the Saguenay Lake St-John region, Expo-Science, Quebec final.

2012 - ACFAS Urgel-Archambault Award for his life-long contribution in engineering.

2010 - ADRIQ/NSERC Award recognizing the excellence of industry/university partnerships highlighting the fruitful partnership established with Hydro-Quebec.

2009 - Tribute of the President Award, for Research and Teaching, of Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec, in recognition of his remarkable contribution to the development and renown of Quebec engineering, in his pursuit of excellence.

2009 - The development of icephobic nanostructured coatings, selected by Québec Science Magazine as one of the 10 most important discoveries of 2008.

2008 - Charles-Biddle Québec Citizenship Award, in recognition of exceptional contribution to the development of Québec society by an individual from a cultural community.

2005 - Nominated to the Circle of Excellence of the Université du Québec for his outstanding academic achievements and the significance of his research.

2005 - NSERC Leo-Deriks Prize for his fruitful and long-term collaboration with Hydro-Quebec, which lead to the establishment of the most important laboratory worldwide in the domain of atmospheric icing.

2004 - Selected among the 100 Leaders and Dreamers – Canada’s Greatest Innovators by McLean’s magazine.

2000 - Discovery Recognition Prize of the Québec Science magazine for his model for predicting insulator flashover

1992-04 - Best Paper Prize on 5 occasions, as author or co-author with his students or researchers, at international conferences in recognition of the outstanding originality and significance of those contributions.

1996 - Louis-Élie Beauchamp Prize for his contribution to the advancement of engineering and fundamental sciences, as well as to scientific development in the Saguenay Lake-St-John region, Canada.

Personnal Web Site of professor Farzaneh  >>